Ode to a Green City of Portsmouth Recycling Bin Tipped on its Side in the Mud Next to the Oak Tree



I know you’re not going to believe me, but I’ve been here from the beginning. You think you know time? Here is a bounty, a balance. You’ve got nothing but need, and push nothing but blood from your beating heart into the night. You’ve got nothing but your first breath and your last breath. I’ve been down in the dark night of iron and fire. But I’m making it sound like a bad thing. What I’m saying is that I’ve seen the minerals and ore. I’ve seen the vines of fire and veins of fuel. I’ve seen the pumps and the pipes. I’ve been in the holds and the barrels. I’ve been transformed. I’ve been born. I’ve been cast out. I’ve seen the beginning over and over again. I’ve seen the oil, the refinement, the waste. I’ve been on both sides of the barrel. I’m time itself. I’m here now, green plastic, tipped over, muddy, cat food can stuck inside, leaves blown up against me, and I know you’ll come down when the rain has stopped, you’ll come down to right me, set me back on dry ground, fill me again, carry me once again, and then again. I’m in no hurry. Tip me level with your foot, shake the water from my basin. I’m empty now but not for long.

Leave a comment